Sew cute. Stylish kids’ clothes on a budget. #1

I never knew how to sew. But when my daughter was born, something snapped and I bought a sewing machine. Suddenly, I was sewing baby clothes like a woman possessed. Most of the clothes turned out very well, even if the seams were a bit crooked at times. Unfortunately, babies grow so quickly, that she was able to wear each item only a few times. So, I thought I would preserve the memories here, and also share the sources for some of the patterns that I really liked.

I searched for most of my patterns online. Some were free, some were not. And once I became comfortable with sewing, I even created some myself. Here is one of my first blouses. This is called the Magic Pocket Blouse, and I got it from Mani Mina online. I think it turned out pretty cute with a polka-dotted pink circle pocket against a pink, blue and red flowered jersey fabric.  I am completely a novice at sewing, and this was not difficult at all.

pocket blouse

Another pattern that I absolutely loved, was a reversible pinafore with bloomers. The pinafore was soooo easy that it was nearly impossible to make any mistakes. And since it is reversible, so you get two outfits from one. I made several of these, and gave some away as gifts. You can see the reverse pattern on the middle and third photos below.

pinafore stripes pinafore owls own pinafore other side

The pattern for the pinafore is from Sew Sweet Patterns. It is for both the pinafore and matching bloomers. In one of the outfits I added an elastic band around the leg, and in the other a normal hem.

Please check back for more patterns and crafts. Happy sewing!

A dash of sweetness and an ounce of love from Zose Designs.

Love to hear your comments!

